FAQs

WHAT USERS ARE ASKING ABOUT NOTEMAKER

Download the FAQs

NotemakerNotemaker works on iPhones, iPods, and iPads running iOS 8.0 and higher. Notemaker does not work on Android devices.

You must have a Google account to sign into and use Notemaker. For information on creating a Google account, visit https://support.google.com/accounts. Once you have an account, enter your email and password into Notemaker to sign in.

On the iPhone and iPod, pages may only be viewed in portrait mode. On the iPad, you may use either portrait or landscape modes.

Screen Shot 2016-01-13 at 8.01.01 PM

Media Quality refers to the amount of information or data that is kept, or encoded in a file. The higher the media quality, the better the quality of the video or audio recording. However, a higher quality means a larger file, which takes up more storage space and increases the time needed to upload or stream it.

Make sure the ringer on your device has been turned on.

Notemaker is trying to sync with Google Drive, and when this kind of jumbled display occurs, it’s because the WiFi isn’t adequate. Everything will be fine once you’re in a good WiFi zone again!

Yes, you can access additional Notemaker features by swiping in certain locations.

On the list of recordings, swipe left on a recording to access the following icons:

Screen Shot 2016-01-13 at 8.03.00 PM

 

 

 

 

 

Once a video has annotations, swipe left on an annotation to access the following icons:

Screen Shot 2016-01-13 at 8.04.36 PM

All recordings are stored on Google Drive. If you recorded or imported a recording into Notemaker, you will also have a copy on your device. You can download copies of recordings that are shared with you by tapping the cloud with the downward arrow on the information screen.

If you are connected to the Internet, Notemaker will automatically sync recordings to your Google Drive account. You can manually sync by going to the Menu page and tapping Sync with Google Drive or by swiping down on the Menu page.

NOTE: If you are using a device with an active cellular data connection, your files will upload and download using the data network. To avoid using your cellular data, go to the phone Settings and turn off cellular data usage for Notemaker specifically. Files will only upload or download when the device is connected to WiFi.

Screen Shot 2016-01-13 at 8.12.15 PM

You can only share recordings that you have created. You cannot forward or share a video that was shared with you.

Tap on the desired recording from your list. Then tap on Share icon in the upper right-hand corner. Now tap “+Share” and a list of your contacts will appear. You may need to allow Notemaker access to your contacts; follow the on-screen instructions to do this. Tap on the contact’s name. A check mark will appear next to the name. Then tap “Share” in the upper-right hand corner. The recording has now been shared with your contact.

In your list of recordings, a new recording with a bold title and the message “Shared by ______” will appear. You can filter the recording list to only see recordings shared with you by tapping the “Filter” icon and tapping “Shared With Me” under Filter Options. Additionally you should receive notifications about new recordings after Notemaker syncs with your Google Drive account.

The recording will be removed from your list of recording the next time Notemaker syncs with your Google Drive account. You will no longer be able to view or annotate the recording.

From the list of recordings, tap the desired file to select and open it. Tap on “Comment” to activate the annotation feature. Start the recording by tapping on “Play” . When you want to add a comment, tap the “Add a Comment” box on the bottom and the recording will stop. Type in your comment, tap “OK”, and then tap “Play” to continue the recording.

First try placing your finger on the playback slider and moving the slider forward or backwards to the spot desired. If you need more precision, place your finger on the playback slider while the recording is playing. Pull your finger downwards and then move the slider to the left or right. You will be able to move more slowly through the recording.

From the list of recordings, swipe right on the file you wish to flag. A set of icons will appear. Tap on to set as a “Favourite.” Swipe left to return to the recording. A small star on the file’s information banner indicates that it is a Favourite.

On the list of recordings, tap on the “Filter” icon. You can filter by “All”, “Mine”, and “Shared With Me”. You can also choose Favourites or New recordings.

In Settings, tap “Colour Scheme” to see the choices.

In Settings, tap “Notification Ringtone” to see the options.

If you are a Cadenza student user and you create a recording in Notemaker, you can then upload it to your Cadenza practice log. However, you cannot create a recording in Cadenza and then share it or upload it to Notemaker.

A crash happens when users have shared their Notemaker folder(s) or a video in a Notemaker folder, from their Google Drive via the Get shareable link. It also happens if they have access to a folder or video that has been shared this way with them (which they may not even be aware of). It even happens if a user changes the name of a video through the Notemaker folder on Google Drive, rather than through the app itself.

To “recover,” the first step for the users experiencing this issue is to make sure that in their Google Drive, the Get shareable link feature has been turned off from their Notemaker folder(s) (see images on Notemaker FAQ online). Be sure to check that you’ve shut down the link feature in all of your folders – depending on the number of videos you’ve created, there could be more than one.

Then they should delete any Notemaker folders or files in their Google Drive that have been shared with them this way.

We strongly recommend that users do not share or play with their Notemaker folders from their Google Drive, as the app wasn’t designed to support this type of usage. The sharing of Notemaker videos should be done through the app only, not through Google Drive, as the Share function is one of the points/core features of Notemaker in the first place, designed to protect the many young students who use the Notemaker tool. By shutting down, Notemaker is ensuring that videos are shared only through the app, restricting access to those videos to those people who the user has selected and identified.

 

20170329_070534_0.png20170329_070611_1.png